Posted by: benhmurray | April 16, 2010

This is no tench…

Today I went to test out a few rigs and set-ups in preparation for a major weekend fishing session on one of my favourite lakes, Waterbeach AC’s Leland Water.

My target for the next few days is a large tench but someone didn’t tell a particular carp this minor strategic point (I was using 8lb line and a size 10 hook with hair-rigged red maggots) and on my first cast I hooked something a bit special.

I’m writing a feature on this weekend’s fishing for Angling Times so I’ll leave the full story until then, but it took longer to land than a decent Pink Floyd song and my arm still aches as I write this.

A new personal best carp landed on tench tackle

I’m sure you’ll agree that she’s a fabulous creature and probably about the same age as myself, although, by the way she tried to wrap me around every available tree stump and snag in the area, considerably wiser.

Leave a Reply

Categories

